I called for an ambulance, why did a fire dept. vehicle show up?
In order to better serve our residents, we have chosen to be a part of the Hamilton County First Responder Program. Within this program, our firefighters are trained as Emergency Medical First Responders, Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics. We respond to all emergency requests for an ambulance within our response district and even to special requests in non-emergency situations. Everyone who is an EMT or Paramedic is trained to the exact level of State and National Certifications as the personnel on the ambulance. The first Responders are trained in all Basic Life Support skills including medical, trauma and hazardous material type situations. The equipment we carry on the Rescue Vehicle is set by the State of Tennessee EMS Office and is capable of Basic Life Support stabilization of patients until arrival of an ambulance. Our First Responder vehicles are equipped with an AED. This machine is capable of automatically converting lethal heart arrhythmias to a life supporting rhythm.
I want to burn some brush, is it legal to burn brush or trash in Hamilton County?
If you are interested in burning brush in Hamilton County, local ordinances require that residents obtain a burn permit. Call 423-478-0337 for specific burn laws and more details.
I am interested in having the fire department participate in a public education or public relations event. How can I get that scheduled?
If your organization is interested in having DBVFD participate in a public education or public relations event, e-mail or phone 423-842-9370 us with some information and a contact. Someone will contact you as soon as possible!
How does the department raise the funds required to operate?
Dallas Bay Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue, Inc. receives a small operational allotment from Hamilton County but the bulk of the operational budget comes from donations in the community. Due to expenses for operations such as fuel, equipment, supplies, repairs, and maintenance, we find it necessary to respectfully ask for a tax deductible 501.C.3 payment of $70 per year or $35 semi-annually. WE DO NOT SOLICIT BY TELEPHONE. Send your check or money order to:
Dallas Bay VFD
P. O. Box 577
Hixson, TN 37343
How can I become a member?
If you are interested in applying for membership, call 423 842-9370, stop by the station, or e-mail us.
What is required of a member?
Must attend training session once per week. These are offered on Tuesday nights beginning at 7 p.m., and again on Friday mornings at 9 a.m. Training is held at 1 of the 3 stations. Call the Dept. for a training location for that month.
Must be at least 18 years of age to be an active Firefighter or Driver Operator. We offer a Jr. Firefighter program that allows you to participate at a minimum level at age 16.
Must have a valid State of Tennessee Drivers License.
Must pass a criminal background check.
Will DBVFD fill my swimming pool?
Unfortunately, we cannot fill private or public swimming pools. The local water company charges fees for the water they provide and our agreement does not permit us to use hydrant water for any other purpose than fire extinguishment.
What’s DBVFD ISO rating?
We are a Class 3. We are very proud to reach this level.